Vickerman Prize

This award is presented to researchers whose work is anticipated to have a major impact in the field of surface analysis. It is intended as a recognition of high quality independent research at an early career stage. It is not restricted to members of the UK Surface Analysis Forum (formerly the UK ESCA Users Group and SIMS Users Forum). The award is named after John Vickerman, the founding Chairman of the SIMS Users Forum, in recognition of his pioneering work in SIMS and his leading role in UK surface and interface science.

2022 Gustavo Ferraz Trindade (NPL)
2021 David Morgan (Cardiff University) – View Citation
2020 Jonathan Counsell (Kratos Analytical) – View Citation
2019 Rasmus Havelund (National Physical Laboratory)
2018 Andrew Hook  (The University of Nottingham)
2016 Melissa Passarelli  (National Physical Laboratory)
2015 Tom Scott  (University of Bristol)
2013 Mischa Zelzer (The University of  Nottingham)

Citations (Where available)

2021: Dr. David Morgan

David has been a recognised expert in XPS and surface analysis for over 20 years. From almost the start of his career he has been the lynchpin of the Cardiff Catalysis Institute’s analytical facilities and in recent years has played a national role as the technical manager of the EPSRC’s national Research Facility in PES. It’s no exaggeration to say that the success of HarwellXPS could not have happened without Dave’s knowledge and guidance. To date, he has contributed to over 200 papers in catalysis, surface chemistry and surface analysis with his paper on the XPS analysis of ruthenium compounds still one of the most highly cited papers in the Wiley journal Surface and Interface Analysis where he also sits on the advisory editorial panel and guest edited a volume with papers from the UKSAF golden anniversary meeting. David has played a prominent role in encouraging young scientists in the area of surface analysis within Cardiff and further afield delivering training courses with a very approachable attitude to sharing and accruing knowledge. This enthusiasm has underpinned the development of the web site which aims to curate all the disparate resources on XPS throughout the world. David has been a strong supporter of the UK surface analysis community taking active roles in UKSAF, BVC and BSI.

2020: Dr. Jonathan Counsell

Dr Counsell is at the forefront of efforts within Kratos to improve the capabilities of XPS instruments and to provide users with reliable methods and data. Jonathan was instrumental in establishing a calibration scheme for the silver X-ray source which is compatible with that of the normal aluminium source. This enables users to simply and easily compare data taken using two widely different X-ray energies, providing insight into the depth distribution of chemical species. Through active collaborations with others, he has extended the application of argon cluster sputtering to metallic nitrides and, using sample rotation, thick organic films. He contributes extensively to the surface analysis community through his participation in interlaboratory studies, as an ISO technical expert and was recently elected as a member of the AVS Applied Surface Science Division. .